Mayor and Council


The Mayor:

Mayor: Jeannie Ehaloak
Jeannie Hakongak Ehaloak, who was born on the DEW line site-Cam 1, Jenny Lind Island. She was first elected in 2011, is currently serving her third term as Mayor, and has been the President of the Nunavut Association of Municipalities since 2013.  Her full-time position is with the Nunavut Impact Review Board as Manager Communications.  Jeannie loves the outdoors and does a lot of walking. She completed a 233 km walk from Omingmaktok to Cambridge Bay in 2012 to raise funds for the Alberta Cancer Foundation, which she received the Queen Elizabeth Diamond Jubilee nominated by the Federation of Canadian Municipalities for promoting healthy living. You will find Jeannie at her cabin on the weekends in the spring, summer and fall, which is her home away home. 

The Council:

Deputy Mayor: Joe Ohokannoak
Councilor: Sarah Jancke
Councilor: David Kaosoni
Councilor: Wiz Mohammed
Councilor: Christina Mulhern
Councilor: Andrea Omilgoitok
Councilor: Jamie Taipana
Councilor: Wilf Wilcox